BJP surges in Karnataka, Congress stunned

Karnataka chief electoral officer Sanjeev Kumar said five minor clashes were reported from various parts of Karnataka

Karnataka chief electoral officer Sanjeev Kumar said five minor clashes were reported from various parts of Karnataka

Asserting that a nation can not be "built on divides", Congress MP Shashi Tharoor on Sunday said India was not safe in the hands of the BJP government.

The elections in two constituencies, Jayanagar and Rajarajeshwari Nagar, both hails Bengaluru have been postponed earlier.

The Karnataka Assembly has 224 seats and a party or an alliance needs 113-seats to stake a claim to form the government.

If the Congress and JD (S) get their act together fast, then they have to be invited by the governor before the BJP has a chance to form a government and hold a trust vote.

Out of 225-Karnataka Assembly segments, 222 went to the polls.

Peru captain Paolo Guerrero banned from World Cup for doping
Guerrero, who has denied wrongdoing throughout, had also appealed to CAS to request the ban be annulled altogether. Peru captain Paolo Guerrero will miss this summer's World Cup through suspension due to a positive doping test.

Gap says sorry for T-shirts with "incorrect map" of China
Other T-shirts in the range show San Francisco, Paris, Japan and Canada but are decorated with national flags rather than maps. Mercedes-Benz also apologized in February for using a quote from the Dalai Lama in a post showcasing a sleek luxury model.

Bolton: 'Regime change' in Iran not policy of Trump administration
Regionally, Israel and Saudi Arabia are Iran's greatest enemies, and both countries fear Iranian military expansion. Mr Kozahnov concluded that there were three possible outcomes to the United States withdrawal from the deal.

With counting nearly over, the BJP is looking to end up with 105 seats, while the Congress Party is set to win 76 and the JD (S) 39. It predicts 82 to 94 seats for Congress, while JD (S) and others will get 18-31 seats and 1 to 8 seats respectively.

Chief Minister Siddaramaiah is now trailing from Chamundeshwari seat. "Every Congressman or (party) activist I have met in Karnataka has no doubt that we will be the single largest party". None of the parties got the magic number of 21.

The Janata Dal-Secular of former Prime Minister H.D. Dewe Gowda, which has been expected to play the role of a kingmaker in the event of a hung Assembly, was leading in 43 seats. JD (S)+ is gaining, with leads on 16 seats for now. "Karnataka Election Commission has sought permission from Central Election Commission in this regard", said a member of the Congress delegation.

The Congress had won 122 seats and the BJP 40 seats in the last Karnataka Assembly election in 2013.

To ease the concerns, the Congress Party has already indicated that it is willing to put up someone like Mallikarjun Kharge, who belongs to a Dalit community, as its chief ministerial candidate. It said that JD (S) will win 30-39 seats and others 2-4 seats.

Recommended News

We are pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news.
Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper.
Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.